Russell Westbrook wins MVP to top NBA Player Awards

The wait is finally over in one of the most intriguing MVP races in the NBA. It was Mr. Triple-Double, Russell Westbrook running away with the NBA’s Most Valuable Player award Monday night. In the first ever NBA Player Award show, the Oklahoma City Thunder guard shed tears on stage thanking everyone and anyone he could list. With a handful of teammates in attendance, Westbrook invited them on stage to share the winning moment.

Westbrook became the first player to achieve 42 triple-doubles in a single NBA season and became the second player in NBA history to average a triple-double in a single season. He would beat out Houston’s James Harden and San Antonio’s Kawhi Leonard for the crown.

The NBA also handed out a Sagar Strong award which honors the late Craig Sagar. The recipient of the award was Monty Williams who lost his wife in a tragic car accident. Williams received a colorful jacket that he donned on stage to honor Sagar. The first ever “Hustle Award” was award to Patrick Beverly of the Houston Rockets.

2017 NBA Player Award Winners

Kia NBA Most Valuable Player                              
Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder                

Kia NBA Rookie of the Year
Malcolm Brogdon, Milwaukee Bucks    

Kia NBA Sixth Man Award                                     
Eric Gordon, Houston Rockets                                                               

Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year
Draymond Green, Golden State Warriors

Kia NBA Most Improved Player                            
Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks                                          

NBA Coach of the Year
Mike D’Antoni, Houston Rockets